Perler Bead Headphones Embellishment

Here’s a cute, fun and easy project you may have seen floating around on Pinterest lately.

Simply slice through the length of each perler bead with a razor or craft knife. Make sure it is sharp, because you don’t want to cause indentation marks when you cut! I found that this utility Exacto worked really well for this project, because I was able to use the ‘tape split’ bit to hold my beads open, which allowed them to pop right onto the cord. As long as you don’t stretch them too much when you put them on the cord, they will mold back to their original shape and you can hardly see the sliced marks.

I did not follow a color pattern with mine, just put them on in random order. I also didn’t fill up the entire length of the cord, I left space so the beads can slide around. It kind of reminds me of a Fisher Price toy. This entire project took me less than 15 minutes to do – it’s so simple it almost seems stupid, but it reminds me of the kinds of toys and crafts I used to play with when I was a kid. And now my headphones match my colorful ipod case!

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a comment