Yarn Grab-bag, & Tribute to An Unknown Talent

On a recent scouring of Goodwill, I found this bag of yarn for $8. The craft aisle at GW is usually hit or miss, there’s either nothing good, or a lot of things I want but have to limit myself.. this was one of those rare, good times.

Based on several bags of expensive, beautiful yarns, and half finished projects – some with the needles still attached, like below – I can only deduce that a great crafter either randomly threw in the towel and dumped all their projects into the Goodwill bin… or she passed away and her belongings were scattered to second hand shops. Unfortunately I had to limit myself for lack of funds, but there was a ton of great stuff.

I chose this bag specifically for the thinner, sport weight yarn it had. This kind of yarn is really great for projects like embellishments and special touches. There are tons of great colors, especially the variegated yarns. Also, most of the skeins with tags on them are foreign! I think Swedish. Most look vintage, and it’s all wool, high quality.

These two projects came inside the bag, still attached to their yarn bundles. This one still has the needles and stitch markers attached!  The only way I would abandon a project like this is out of frustration… people just.. don’t knit like this anymore. The stitches and carry-overs – just looking at it is enough to make my head spin. wowwww!! I’m so impressed with this work. I think I can safely say I could never do a project like this, especially as it seems to be the startings of a sleeve, so there was a whole intentional sweater involved here. I’m just speechless.

Another really beautiful abandoned project. The colors are just amazing! This one was pulled off it’s needles, so it could unravel at a mere breath.  I’m planning to save these beauties and repurpose them into something I can use – for the second, I’m envisioning a small change purse or drawstring sack. Since I have the original yarns, I can just slip the stitches back on a needle and cast off with one round.  I can’t decide what to do with the first project, any suggestions?

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

