Goodbyeology

Goodbyeology was a poetry chapbook I made for my Poetry I class at Mills.

The contents of the chapbook are a little scattered; it constitutes as one big piece that was modeled after some poems we read in class. The style I chose had bolded lines every so often, with a paragraph or two underneath which related to the bold statement in some way, although it wasn’t always clear how. The style was a little messy but it had a lot of my regular themes; this one was full of nostalgic anecdotes and lots about dreams and longing. I supplemented the poem with tons of weird little clip art drawings of clocks, ladies, dolls, and teacups from Dover Publications.

I’m very old fashioned when it comes to my zine making; I’m a cut and paste kind of girl rather than a digital imager. I actually prefer literally cutting out every little piece of text and image, arranging and rearranging, then gluing them down to a hard copy, rather than creating templates on a computer and not having a physical model. So, each little image and block of text for this baby was cut out and prepared. I actually find minuscule snipping and rearranging very therapeutic, but everybody’s got their thing.

This was made during my 3 year stint at the Mills College Mail&Copy center, where I had a vast selection of paper, printing and binding options at my complete disposal. My bosses were awesome and let us girls use the machinery for class and personal projects, and refused any kind of monetary compensation we offered.  This equiptment included a fancy schmancy color copier, which you will see the fruits of in further projects to be posted.

The title comes from Jack Kerouac’s narration in the film “Pull My Daisy.”

2 Responses

  1. Oooh. I love seeing a fresh stack of chapbooks! Love that spectrum. I make chapbooks the same way you do. I cut and paste everything into a “model” and then make copies of it.

    • it’s very satisfying, I feel like you see a lot more of the progress because it comes together in your hands. Also you have a hard copy to make more editions any time, rather than having to set up a printer again for alignment and justification everytime you want to print digital. And, I’m just a very visual person.

Leave a Reply

