Checkerboard Scarf

Sort of an “a-ha!” moment that didn’t occur until about a year into my haphazardly knitting scarves and not trying anything any harder.

It *suddenly* struck me that I could alter my boring ‘ole K1, P1 pattern to make something cool…

For 4 stitch squares:

R1: K4, P4, K4, P4
R2: P4, K4, P4, K4
R3: same as R1.
R4: same as R2.

R5: P4, K4, P4, K4
R6: K4, P4, K4, P4
R7: same as R5.
R8: same as R6.

Repeat Rows 1-8 to desired length.

Lather, rinse, and repeat!

2 Responses

  1. I’m making a scarf in the same color! I’m using a Stitch Nation yarn. I love it.

    • I know the yarn! we just started selling it at my work, along with all the books. There’s some really cute stuff in there. This was just $2.49 Red Heart yarn, I try and deviate sometimes but I just like the way the smoothness works up and you can really see the pattern. I’m working on a sweater right now (my first!) with turquoise Red Heart, it cost me $12 total at Walmart, ha.

Leave a Reply

